Mystery by the Sea by Verity Bright

Today I am delighted to be hosting the blog tour for the latest in the Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, Mystery by the Sea by Verity Bright.

Synopsis

A magnificent seaside hotel, striped deckchairs, strawberry ice cream… and a rather familiar dead body? Lady Swift is on the case!

Spring, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift, explorer extraordinaire and accidental sleuth, hasn’t had a vacation since she arrived in England a year ago. Being an amateur detective can be a rather tiring business and she is determined to escape any more murder and mysteries. So she books into the Grand Hotel in the fashionable resort of Brighton for some fresh air, fish and chips and, of course, a dip in the ocean.

Eleanor is enjoying her view of the waves and trying to find her bathing suit when calamity strikes: a guest has been found dead at her beautiful hotel. The distraught manager, who can’t afford a scandal, asks Eleanor to solve the case as swiftly as possible. Thank goodness she has her partner in crime – Gladstone the bulldog – to help her sniff out the dastardly culprit.

But when Eleanor enters the dead man’s room, she receives a shock big enough to make her forget even the finest ice cream sundae. The body is that of her husband, who supposedly died six years ago on the other side of the world. Has he been alive all these years? Why does he have a copy of their wedding photograph with a cryptic message written on the back? If Eleanor can keep herself safe long enough to find her husband’s killer, she might discover that everything is not quite as it seems beside the seaside…

A warm and witty whodunnit! Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and L.B. Hathaway will be utterly charmed by this addictive and absolutely gripping page-turner.

Mystery by the Sea by Verity Bright is available in paperback, ebook and on audiobook.
My thoughts

Oh I do enjoy this series. I was first introduced when I reviewed Murder in the Snow last year and so I returned to Lady Swift’s adventures knowing I would be in safe hands. I love the easy, humour that flows throughout the novels. The characters are wonderfully engaging and the detective duo of Lady Swift and her butler and bodyguard, Clifford is simply sublime. I adore the repartee between them and the obvious love and respect that has formed during their time together at Henley hall.

This time we join them as they attempt some rest and relaxation by the sea. Brighton to be exact and having been there many times myself (and having even stayed at The Grand Hotel!), it was wonderful to visit with them and this time during the 1920s. I love that Lady Swift’s household staff are as dear to her as family and that she took the lot of them along with her for a holiday. Of course the book requires a murder mystery and so the holiday couldn’t really be all paddling in the sea and fish and chips and the authors certainly didn’t keep us waiting for long – Lady Swift’s welcome to The Grand Hotel was certainly NOT what she expected.

Although a ‘cosy crime’ novel this certainly had me going back and forth as to who out of the suspects could have been the murderer. The plot is well thought out and carries the story along beautifully. It was a delight to read. Gentle, fun and with a few good twists and turns along the way. During these trying times this type of novel is the perfect medicine. I would thoroughly recommend reading with a large piece of cake and something scrumptious to drink! Lady Eleanor would you know.

My thanks must go to Sarah Hardy for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and for providing me with a review copy via Netgalley. I very much look forward to seeing what adventures may be in store next for Lady Swift and Clifford.

About the author

Verity Bright


Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

Buy Link:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bh7omG

The blog tour continues until 17th March 2021.


Categories: Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Crime, Fiction, Mystery, Netgalley, Suspense, Thriller

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Hi Shelley – I’m sure I’ve already left a comment but I can’t see it, so thanks again for such a wonderful review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: