A Lesson in Murder by Verity Bright

Today I am delighted to be returning the roaring 1920s and the world of Lady Eleanor Swift and her loyal companion

Synopsis

When Lady Swift is invited to her old school, she walks through familiar classrooms, finds her favourite books in the library… and surely that’s not a body? Time for a lesson in murder!

Autumn, 1921Lady Eleanor Swift is invited to her old school, St Mary’s, as a guest speaker. Her favourite teacher, Mrs Wadsworth, has asked that Eleanor talk about her intrepid travels around the globe – travelling the Silk Road by bicycle, crossing the Himalayas and even befriending the Maharaja of India. But in the circumstances, perhaps it would have been a good idea to talk about her career as a daring detective…

Because no sooner has Eleanor brushed up on her times tables then she is greeted by terrible news: Mrs Wadsworth has been murdered. Eleanor is utterly devastated but she owes it to her dearest teacher to find out who killed her and why. So, alongside Gladstone the bulldog, it’s best paw forward to track down a villain.

But when the art teacher is also found dead, Eleanor is sure someone is trying to do away with the people who taught her everything. As Eleanor delves into possible motives, she discovers a clue in the most unlikely place: her mother’s old school diary. Does the route to the murderer lie within a secret passageway her mother uncovered? Can Eleanor nail the culprit in time or is the killer coming for her next?

A totally gripping and glamorous 1920s cozy! Fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Rhys Bowen are in for a treat.

A Lesson in Murder is available now in paperback, on ebook and audiobook.
My thoughts

Already we are on book 7 in the series and I think this has been my favourite so far. It is always a pleasure to be back in the company of Eleanor, Clifford and of course Gladstone the bulldog. This time they are taking us back to school as Eleanor is swiftly caught up in a murder at St Marys. Eleanor has mixed feelings about returning there as her childhood memories weren’t all good but when her favourite teacher is found dead she jumps at the chance to stay there working undercover as a house mistress, whilst she and Clifford attempt to find out who may have been responsible. It’s tricky investigating a suspicious death in a place that doesn’t like the whiff of a scandal but Eleanor and Clifford set to their subtle undertaking (well as subtle as Lady Swift ca be!).

This is another gentle, yet engaging thriller that I very much enjoyed. Eleanor is super company and I feel that I am getting to know her even better with each story. In A Lesson in Murder, Eleanors relationship with Chief Inspector Seldon develops further (with a good few ups and downs along the way) and we also venture back into Eleanor’s past and discover a little more about her childhood and her mother in particular. Whilst each book is devoted to a particular mystery there is a sense of gradually uncovering more and more about Eleanor and what happened to her parents.

This is a wonderful, light hearted, funny series that brings some welcome relief and I’m very much enjoying it. Although it does rather make me crave some delicious cake whilst reading! A Lesson in Murder ends on a rather delightful note and I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book, Death on a Winter’s Day, later this year.

My thanks goes to Sarah Hardy of Bookoutre for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and supplying me with a review copy via Netgalley. As always, it’s been an absolute delight.

About the author

Verity Bright

Verity Bright is the pseudonym for a husband-and-wife writing partnership that has spanned a quarter of a century. Starting out writing high-end travel articles and books, they published everything from self-improvement to humour, before embarking on their first historical mystery. They are the authors of the fabulous Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery series, set in the 1920s.

https://twitter.com/BrightVerity
Buy Link:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3kRsM5q



Categories: Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Crime, Fiction, Murder Mystery

Tags: , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Hi Shelley – thank you for such a thoughtful and positive review -A Lesson in Murder has also ben my favourite to write so far 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: