The Butterfly Garden by Sophie Anderson

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for The Butterfly Garden by Sophie Anderson

Synopsis

I blamed my son for the death of my daughter…

When twenty-five-year-old Erin loses the man she loves, she flees London for Cornwall and takes a job at Hookes End, a huge house clinging precariously to the Cornish cliffs. The owner, frail reclusive novelist and butterfly enthusiast Maggie, has kept the curtains of her dusty house drawn for many years. But as she and Erin spend evenings together by the fireside, sharing stories of the past, Erin feels her shattered heart begin to heal. In return, Erin agrees to help Maggie find her long lost family before it is too late.

Years ago, Maggie’s son Lucas ran away to the other side of the world after the death of her daughter ripped the family apart. Maggie is desperate to see Lucas again – there is something she needs him to know.

Erin wants to help Maggie find peace so she vows to track down her lost son. But when at last she finds Lucas, in a far- away place of searing heat and pearly sands, it becomes clear that he is hiding something too.

As Erin grows closer to Lucas and unravels the webs of deceit entangling mother and son, she learns about the terrible tragedy that changed their lives forever: the night when a little girl in a fairy nightdress went missing. But with Maggie’s time fast running out, is it too late for them to find the forgiveness they need to move on?

A heart-wrenching page-turner about a family ripped apart by guilt and lies. Set against the storms of the Cornish coast and silvery tropical sands of a distant paradise, The Butterfly Garden is a story of love, loss and letting go. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Harriet Evans and Lucinda Riley will be gripped.

The Butterfly Garden by Sophie Anderson is available now in paperback, eBook and on Audiobook.
My thoughts

I adore reading a good, strong debut novel and this was certainly one of those. It is a novel to lose yourself in and be swept away within it’s pages. As the synopsis tells us, Erin is returning broken hearted after running away with a married man. She is the talk of her home town when she finally returns and hides herself away working for the local recluse, Maggie. Maggie is dying and gradually losing her sight along the way and so hires Erin to be her ‘eyes’ and help her finish writing her final novel. Before long these two damaged, vulnerable women become very close and Erin decides to try and help heal some of the pain in Maggie’s past by finding her estranged son Lucas.

There is heartbreak within the pages of this novel. At times it was terribly sad but I couldn’t help but feel invested in both characters and it was actually rather moving following their journey. Maggie, I found, a indomitable character who had suffered greatly in her past, suffering the very worst a parent can imagine. But I really liked her, I enjoyed spending time with her and Erin in her dusty yet cosy house and watching the relationship develop and seeing how Erin, already suffering her own trauma and heartbreak wanted to help her.

This is a well written, well plotted story. I enjoyed the locations and the ease that Sophie brought them to life – it was wonderful to travel both to Cornwall and to the paradise that Erin travels to searching for Lucas. It was an emotional journey but one that I very much enjoyed.

Thanks so much to Sarah Hardy for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and for an review copy of the book.

About the author

Sophie Anderson enjoyed a career in TV production in London before working with her husband to set up an online software business where she wrote the marketing content. But neither scratched that creative itch to tell a story, so she enrolled on a writing course and wrote her first novel The Butterfly Garden. She lives in Sussex with her husband, four children, a cocker spaniel and two cats.

https://www.facebook.com/sophieandersonfiction
https://twitter.com/MSophieanderson

Buy Links:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3iIoT3cApple: https://apple.co/2OY3Q08Kobo: https://bit.ly/3lKrEkeGoogle: https://bit.ly/2NME1zE



Categories: Blog Tour, Debut, Family Drama, Fiction, Friendship, Netgalley

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: