Going Greek

Today I am delighted to take part in the final day of the blog tour for Going Greek by Sue Roberts.

Synopsis

Sun, sea and a sizzling romance… the perfect holiday, right? Wrong.

After a work party gone disastrously wrong, Samantha suddenly finds herself jobless and jilted. So when her sister invites Sam to stay at her little whitewashed farmhouse on a Greek island, Sam leaps at the chance to escape. Before long, she’s trundling up the cobbled driveway, almost colliding with sexy neighbour Spyros.

It isn’t all sunshine and smiles though. For every afternoon spent lounging by the pool, cocktail in hand, there is a morning spent adjusting to life with boisterous six-year-old nieces. When Spyros invites Sam to explore the island with him she’s tempted, but with his carefree, live-for-the-moment attitude, he couldn’t be more different to Sam with her five-year plans and high-maintenance hair. One drink, as friends, couldn’t hurt though? Over glasses of fruity Greek wine and honey-sweet baklava, can he – and the other charming locals – help city girl Sam to appreciate the simple pleasures the Greek life has to offer?

Just as Sam is considering ditching her designer gear for good though, she runs in to an old flame from home, and suddenly her London life comes hurtling back. Can her smooth-talking ex convince Sam to return to the concrete jungle, or will the lessons she’s learned from her Greek escape persuade her to stay?

A fun, fabulous and completely laugh-out-loud summer read perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Jenny Colgan and Sophie Kinsella.

Going Greek by Sue Roberts is available now on eBook and in paperback.

My thoughts

Ah, what a joy it is to be able to travel within the pages of a book…and this time we’re off to Greece.

Poor Sam has, for the first time, seen her fan base and the great British press, turn against her. Suddenly she is no longer the darling of daytime TV and the only escape she can think of is to go and spend the summer with her sister in Greece. Whilst she attempts to ween herself off of constant social media surfing (with the help of dodgy WiFi) Sam finally begins to slow down, relax and enjoy the good things in life – family, sunshine and a rather lovely Greek named Spyros. The experience that left her wounded and humiliated has made her stop and reconsider what is really important in life – with a backdrop of glorious sunshine and good Greek food. Then her first love turns up out of the blue and Sam is torn between two very different paths as she wrestles with which way to turn next. Can she find her happy ever after so far away from home in London? And will home ever feel quite the same again?

The joy of this book is the gorgeous setting, the engaging and highly likeable cast of characters and of course Sam herself. She was a girl who thought she had it all, until, of course, one piece came loose and she almost lost it all. Sometimes, in what can feel, our darkest moments the light can appear and make things so much clearer and what we thought was real and right for us doesn’t quite feel the same.

This is a perfect piece of escapism and a rather delightful journey from London to a sun-soaked Greek island. It made me chuckle, smile and at times grimace on Sam’s behalf and it was a highly enjoy read. Perfect for lovers of a little soul searching and romance and for those of us who would just like to be whisked away for a little while.

Thank you so much to Sarah at Bookouture for inviting me to take part in this Books-On-Tour blog tour and for supplying me with a review copy via Netgalley. It was an absolute delight.

About the author

Sue Roberts

Sue Roberts lives in Lancashire with her long term partner Derek and has had a lifelong love of writing, encouraged by winning a school writing competition at the age of 11.

She always assumed that ‘one day’ she would write a book, always having a busy household and a job, the idea remained firmly on the back burner but never forgotten.

The inspiration for her first novel came to her on a holiday to a Greek village. Her daughters had left home and suddenly the time had come to write that book!

https://twitter.com/suerobertsautho

Buy Links:Amazon: https://bit.ly/3bFSHt2Apple: https://apple.co/3bI9LhZKobo: https://bit.ly/2ScJhOBGoogle: https://bit.ly/37YjSNW



Categories: Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Fiction, Love, Netgalley, Relationship Stories, Relationship Tales, Romance, Summer Reads

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: