Eleven Lines to somewhere by Alyson Rudd

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blog tour for the second astounding novel from Alyson Judd, Eleven Lines To Somewhere.

Synopsis

In a world of what-ifs, a connection has been made …

When Ryan spots a young woman on the tube on his commute, he can’t take his eyes off her. Instantly attracted and intrigued, he’s keen to find out more about his mysterious fellow passenger.

The woman he thinks of as Millie spends all day travelling the Underground, unable to leave for reasons unbeknownst to Ryan. For some inexplicable reason, he just can’t shake the feeling he wants to help her escape her endless commute.

This is a story of love and loss from the author of The First Time Lauren Pailing Died, perfect for fans of Anna Hope’s Expectation, David Nicholls’s Sweet Sorrow and Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life.

Eleven Lines to Somewhere by Alyson Rudd – Published now on ebook, audiobook and in Hardback. A paperback edition will come in 2021.

My Thoughts

Oh but this is a beautiful novel. I adored Alyson’s first novel, The First Time Lauren Pailing Died, but dare I say that this is even better, The writing is exquisite. Alyson manages to capture the very essence of love and loss and love again through the handful of characters she brings into our lives. Ryan is so likeable, almost ordinary and yet not. Watching him watch Millie as she travels through the underground is breathtaking. The instant connection he felt towards her was touching. Desperate to discover more about this woman, he follows her, agonising as he does it as not wanting to become stalkerish in his behaviour. He is a good guy though, we can feel that. One of the things I love most about Alyson’s writing is her ability to capture a character, make them real and make you care about them. It’s wonderful. She has the ability to hold you and make you invested in the outcome of their story.

The story centers around Ryan and Millie and we also see further into the people in their lives, no matter how briefly. Their loss, their love, it’s incredibly moving. The London Underground features heavily in this story. It is the Manderley to Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca, atmopsheric and integral to the events that unfold. But most of all it is a story of love, sadness, of letting go of the past and acceptance. It is a story of kindness, love and loss, a story about the journey that makes us who we are. It’s wonderful and I thoroughly recommend it.

Thanks so much to the lovely team at HQ Stories for inviting me to take part in this blog tour and for sending me a digital copy of the book. I’ll definitely be adding the hardback copy to my wishlist – I HAVE to have this on my bookcase, alongside Lauren Pailing.

About the author

Alyson Rudd

Alyson Rudd was born in Liverpool, raised in West Lancashire and educated at the London School of Economics. She is a sports journalist at The Times and lives in South West London.

She has written two works of non-fiction. The First Time Lauren Pailing Died was her first novel.

Find out more by visiting the HQ Stories website here.

The blog tour continues until July 27th.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.