Summer In Mayfair by Susannah Constantine

Today I am delighted to be taking part in the blogger day for Summer In Mayfair by Susannah Constantine

Synopsis

A modern day Nancy Mitford, this is the untold story of nobility
during the seventies from household name, Susannah Constantine.

Esme Munroe is now twenty-two years old and finally leaving the wild landscape of the Scottish highlands behind her for the big smoke.
Arriving in London, she starts work at prestigious Art Gallery in Mayfair, and meets the gorgeous and worldly Suki, who takes her to the most glamourous bars and clubs in London.

But the fast, frenetic pace of the city is easy to become lost in – will Esme discover a long- hidden secret about herself and who she can really trust, before it’s too late?

Don’t miss the stunning sequel to After the Snow, perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Crown.

My thoughts

I met Susannah Constantine at a blogger event a couple of years ago for the publication of her debut novel After the Snow . She was warm, friendly and just as lovely as she comes across on the television. I was therefore intrigued to read her novel and wasn’t at all disappointed. Her humour and spark shines through in her writing and this is even more evident in her second novel, Summer in Mayfair.

Summer in Mayfair is set ten years after the events of 1969 at Culcairn Castle and we return to Esme as she begins a new life, away from her home and all that she knows in the Scottish Highlands. Esme is now twenty-two and ready to make her own way in the world, ready to find her independence. She begins work in a Art Gallery in Mayfair and the transition isn’t an easy one. She misses her family and the motherly Mrs Bee and she has nothing with her except the most basic of belongings and a mysterious painting that was left to her by her mother’s lover, the Earl of Culcairn.

Esme feels out of pleace amongst the glamour and vibrancy of life in London. She soon begins to find her way and looks to uncover the mystery that surrounds the legacy left to her by the Earl, the painting. As she gradually uncovers the layers Esme begins to realise that the painting holds a greater secret than she could ever imagine, and one that may just change her life forever.

Susannah brilliantly captures London in the late 1970’s, a city on the edge of great change as it moves towards a new decade, with a new Prime Minister. With larger than life characters who bring shocks a plenty, this is a vibrant, colourful and engaging read. But Esme’s story is at the heart of the novel and it was super to be able to follow her on the next chapter of her journey.

It really won’t matter if you haven’t yet read After the Snow, but why on earth wouldn’t you grab that too? It’s rather good. Both books are available now in print, ebook and on audiobook. Perhaps something to escape into over the weekend?

Thanks so much to the lovely team at HQ Stories for inviting me to take part in the blogger day for Summer in Mayfair and for sending me a digital copy via Netgalley. It was lovely to return to Susannah’s work and I look forward to see what will come next.

About the author

Susannah Constantine

Susannah Constantine is an English fashion journalist, advisor,
television presenter, author and designer. She hosted the BBC 2
programme What Not to Wear from 2001 to 2005 and went on to
co-host Trinny & Susannah Undress and Undress the Nation, as
well as frequently appearing as a makeover stylist on The Oprah
Winfrey show. In 2015, Susannah flew to Australia to compete
in I’m A Celebrity Get Me Out of Here and appeared on Strictly
Come Dancing in 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.