Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott – Reviewed by Eva

I’m thrilled to say that fabulous book loving Eva is back with us on Tales Before Bedtime with another super review. This time she’s chatting about Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott.  This moving teen/YA novel has already been made into a movie and so I felt it only right that this should be one that Eva chat about.  Let’s find out what she thought…

Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott

Stella Grant is a control freak. She is in control of everything except for her lungs. Being a teenager with Cystic Fibrosis is not easy. It takes everything away from her. Small things like her senior class trip to Cabo to large things like never finding true love. On top of all of that her parents are also divorced and the only way to make them happy is if she stays alive. So that is what she must do: stay alive.

Will Newman is a teenager who is about to turn eighteen. Like Stella, he has Cystic Fibrosis but he also has B.ceptia. He grew up moving from one hospital to another. He is an artistic rebel who is always getting into trouble with the nurses. He does not take his medicine and does not care if he dies, he just wants to get rid of the pain.
When Stella first meets Will (from six feet away as due to their illness they cannot be close) she makes a deal with him. If she helps him to sort out a timetable for taking his medicine as he should, she will allow him to draw a picture of her. After that they start to get closer and closer, a relationship that puts them both at risk because of their illness.

This book was AMAZING! The writing flows and it is very easy to follow. The writers’ words were very touching and definitely made me cry. The repetition in the book was very powerful and made me want to keep reading on. It was a very good book to read and made me feel like I was on an emotional roller coaster. I have no books to compare this book to as it was very unique and I have never read anything like this book. The ages I would highly recommend this book to is 12 and over as this book has mild language.

Synopsis

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication – they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control – even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Now a major motion picture on Netflix starring Cole Sprouse (Riverdale’s Jughead) and Haley Lu Richardson (The Edge of Seventeen and Recovery Road)!

You can follow Racheal Lippincott on Twitter at @rchllipp

Five Feet Apart is available in paperback, eBook and Audiobook and is published in the UK by Simon and Schuster.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.